Prologue

To begin with, my name is Kasia and I admit, I am a bookworm… I have always been.

Before I start sharing my views on diverse books that I have had pleasure to read,  I would like to write some introductory words in order to familiarise potential viewers of this blog with my general attitude towards reading.

Unfortunately, modern times are not very welcoming when it comes to reading books. I do not intend to generalise or follow any stereotypes, but from what I have observed in my surrounding, reading is not the predominant form of spending one’s spare time.  Several reasons for such a situation may be enumerated, however, I do not think it should be the issue I will try to focus on right now. What I want to fix my glance on, are the reasons for which I get lost in pages very often.

Reading is not only the way of filling your time with something. It is a wonderful chance to close yourself in a warm shell, get separated from the world around you and be moved to a different reality for a few moments. It is a perfect way to make your imagination work or your emotions set free. Reading may make a person richer, not only in terms of language skills, but also when it comes to feelings. And I am pretty sure that it can be the cure for some “diseases” that we are prone to suffer from sometimes… boredom, stress, tiredness… just take a “miraculous pill” in the form of a good book and you will see.

Coming to an end, I would like to present the list of my favourite books, with which I have fallen in love at the first reading. Different authors, different genres, but one thing in common. All of them are simply masterpieces for me.

  1. Mikhail Bulgakov – ‘The Master And Margarita’ (1967)
  2. Diana Gabaldon – ‘Outlander’ (1991)
  3. Henryk Sienkiewicz – ‘The Deluge’ (1886)
  4. Ira Levin – ‘Rosemary’s Baby’ (1967)
  5. Arturo Pérez-Reverte – ‘The Club Dumas’ (1993)
  6. Arturo Pérez-Reverte – ‘The Flanders Panel’ (1990)
  7. Elizabeth Kostova – ‘The Historian’ (2005)
  8. Fyodor Dostoyevsky – ‘The Brothers Karamazov’ (1880)
  9. Anne Rice – ‘The Queen Of The Damned’ (1988)
  10. Alexander Dumas – ‘The Count Of Monte Cristo’ (1844-1845)


One thought on “Prologue

  1. Diego says:

    Just love your writting style! Really! Easy to read, but with a ‘pompus’ touch. I like it

    Now I’m really curious with your future ‘reviews’ 🙂

    And hope you don’t become too much ‘journalist’ hehehe 😀

Leave a Reply

