Diana Gabaldon

Biographical note

Diana J. Gabaldon, who has an Mexican-American and English ancestry, was born on January 11th, 1952 in Arizona (USA). She grew up in Flagstaff, Arizona where she got a bachelor’s degree in Zoology and a Ph.D. in Ecology, both from Northern Arizona University. She also earned a master’s degree in Marine Biology from the University of California, San Diego. In 2007 Gabaldon received an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters (DHL) degree from Northern Arizona University.

In the 1980s she worked full-time as an assistant professor in the Center for Environmental Studies at Arizona State University. Her duties included doing research, being a scientific computing and database expert and conducting classes at the university. In the mid-1980s she also took up writing computer articles and software reviews for publications such as Byte magazine, PC Magazine, and InfoWorld.

Currently, Diana lives in Phoenix, Arizona with her husband, Doug Watkins. They are parents of three adult children. After finalizing her first book deal, she resigned her faculty position at Arizona State University and became a full-time fiction author.

List of works 

  • Outlander series
  1. Outlander (1991)
  2. Dragonfly in Amber (1992)
  3. Voyager (1994)
  4. Drums of Autumn (1997)
  5. The Outlandish Companion (1999) – a guide to the Outlander series containing synopses, a character guide, and other notes and information
  6. The Fiery Cross (2001)
  7. A Breath of Snow and Ashes (2005)
  8. An Echo in the Bone (2009)
  9. The Exile – An Outlander Graphic Novel (2010)
  10. “A Leaf on the Wind of All Hallows” (2010) – a short story in Songs of Love and Death, an anthology
  11. Written in My Own Heart’s Blood (forthcoming)
  • Lord John series
  1. Lord John and the Hellfire Club (1998) – novella
  2. Lord John and the Private Matter (2003)
  3. Lord John and the Succubus – novella published in Legends II, edited by Robert Silverberg
  4. Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade (2007)
  5. Lord John and the Haunted Soldier (2007) – novella
  6. Lord John and the Hand of Devils (2007) – collection of three novellas
  7. The Custom of the Army (2010) – novella published in Warriors, edited by George R.R. Martin and Gardner Dozois
  8. Lord John and the Plague of Zombies (2011) -novella published in Down These Strange Streets, edited by George R.R. Martin and Gardner Dozois
  9. The Scottish Prisoner (2011)
  • Other works
  1. Humane Killer – short story co-written with Samuel Sykes
  2. Phoenix Noir (2009) – a short story collection with fifteen other authors
  3. Naked Came the Phoenix (2001) – a collaboration with twelve other authors


  • 1992: RITA Award given by the Romance Writers of America in the category Best Book of 1991 for the novel Outlander
  • 2006: Quill Book Award in 2006 in the category Science Fiction / Fantasy / Horror






2 thoughts on “Diana Gabaldon

  1. Diego says:

    Nice! Bios are a good thing to have as well, know a little bit more about writters 🙂

  2. Kasia says:

    Yeah, personally, I like to know something about authors before I read their books.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s